Please write my folks and throw away my keys…

Homesickness is a topic that often comes up usually within introductions when I meet people. They’ll say, “do you miss Scotland?” and I’ll say, “yeah but probably not as much as you think.” and then they’ll often start telling me how much they miss their home and their family etc. and end with, “it must be so much worse for you because you’re further away from your home.”

To me, homesickness isn’t measured by distance. It’s like trying to measure pain or joy. Everyone has a different threshold, different ways of coping and dealing. My homesickness rarely lingers because I feel like I’ve been on a 13 year vacation this whole time I’ve been married and “homeless.” I’ve lived in a lot of different places. I’ve been constantly experiencing new things; people, places, food, landscapes, and climates that I hadn’t even imagined for the first 19 years of my life.

I have no idea where we’re going next but I feel so much at home with the not knowing…

ive never been so lost

Thanks to Something Corporate for summing it up in 2002 for me with this lyrical gem.

Leave a Reply

