Jane Austen’s Fight Club.

Facebook is telling me that it’s been 6 years since the Jane Austen’s Fight Club video took the internet by storm, which means it’s been 6 years since I was given the opportunity to get super serious about design and marketing. 6 years since I sat on my ikea couch furiously typing up and sending out an email to my friends who had asked me to work with them on their startup, designing and selling tshirts.

In 2010 I was living in Northern California, just outside of Oakland, in a bungalow in a secluded cul-de-sac with a beautiful, fragrant jasmine bush outside my front door. My computer was set up so I could see out the window – including that time my elderly neighbour decided to take a whizz right onto the tree in front of me…

I worked hard networking with artists and selling them that, unbeknownst to me at the time, lie that if you design for us you’ll gain exposure. “We can’t pay you but we’ll link to your work, spotlight you, market you. It’ll be awesome!” I believed it would all work out amazingly for everyone. Just like how that Jane Austen’s Fight Club video disappeared (due to copyright violations) my startup disappeared too after it’s own little struggle.

If you google Jane Austen’s Fight Club you’ll see the tshirts I designed and we sold in partnership with the girls who made the video…

Those were good times, a proud moment, and some of my favourite designs.

Leave a Reply

